June 13-19, 2010

June 19, 2010 § Leave a comment

011 – This week, brings Fathers Day inspiration and all that good stuff. Okay… some other stuff too…

DESIGN INSPIRATION ::

IT’S NICE THAT is a wonderful resource for people looking for their daily fix of inspiration and reference – allowing to get a glimpse into the minds of some amazing talents that cover the boards of digital media, photography, film, sculpture, illustration, edible art… you name it.

From it’s online home, IT’S NICE THAT has evolved into some broader ventures, including a biannual publication, as well as a curated series of talks and a weekly podcast series.

All of which creates a gorgeous array of pure art. Good fun.

(via @ITSNICETHAT)


Digging deeper into IT’S NICE THAT, I came across a few specific designers that made me slow down and look closer…….

London designer, MIKE LEMANSKI, who showcases an eclectic range of styles.

My personal favs are the geometric enriched posters that hold strong angles and colors. The London poster, in particular, holds information-based structure-esque qualities… which is probably why I really like it.

(via @MIKELEMANSKI)


ANDREW LISTER who is currently in his third year of Graphic Design at Northumbria University, has some fresh and bold designs.

I love the vibrant yet subdued colors that are playing with the typography and photography. And, I’ll tell ya, it took a little while to pull my thoughts to words on Lister’s graphic style… and I hope I did it justice.


CARL KLEINER of Stockholm has wonderfully bizarre, odd, sick, funny and beautiful art. All in the same. How he makes such unusual pairings work is inspirational. Kudos, Carl.

And, no, I don’t know why Valerie is wearing a lampshade on her head but she makes it work and I’m getting jealous.


PHOTOGRAPHY ::

The FREE SHUTTERSTOCK PHOTO OF THE WEEK is a moody landscape stock photo.

Besides the surreal imagery, the colors alone make me wonder when the fairies will arrive.

DOWNLOAD DEADLINE: Monday, June 21, 2010

(via @SHUTTERSTOCK)


FATHER’S DAY ::

With Father’s Day tomorrow, what could be better than the traditional design of a tie? Or, considerably better, an untraditional design?

UncommonGoods offers THE DADDY’S TIE kit where the baby’s hand or footprint (or both) can be saved forever.

Yes, I’m sure Dad’s are sick of the ties and wrench sets but this unique personalized gift is pretty awesome and since it’s designed by the child (hands on, so to speak), it will be sure to tug a few heart strings.

(via @UNCOMMONGOODS)


Have a great week…
~ Jennifer

QUOTE OF THE WEEK ::
“When I’m working on a problem, I never think about beauty. I think only how to solve the problem. But when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.”

~ R. Buckminster Fuller

TAGS: digital media, film, sculpture, illustration, photography, Father’s Day, Dad, tie

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading June 13-19, 2010 at THIS WEEK IN DESIGN.

meta

