June 20-26, 2010

June 26, 2010 § 1 Comment

012 – This week, well, I find my design choices to share just plain fun and silly. They make me smile.

DESIGN INSPIRATION ::

Don’t be a spaz and let me give you the skinny. Here’s the lowdown: you can feel that funk of the groovy seventies over at the Behance Network where you can take a step back in time and check out these primo designs.

Do me a solid and check out ALT/1977: WE ARE NOT TIME TRAVELERS. It’s a coolie and retro look at modern technology – where I personally would be stoked to find this time machine and rake in the mulah too. Stone groove.

Peace, Love and Granola, baby. Can You Dig It?

(via @behance)


This week’s ‘Shooting Challenge’ over at Gizmodo brings 75 CAPTURED CANDIDS. People were asked to “capture moments without all the posing and pre-planning.”

The results are downright interesting, observant and personal.

(via @gizmodo)


I came across this great article that I whole-heartedly agree with:

WHY GOOD WEB DESIGNERS ARE LIKE GOOD PLASTIC SURGEONS.

These are a few of my favorite points that the designer and surgeon have in common:

  • You consider your job to be producing functioning works of art.
  • You like to trim the fat, performing liposuction on your CSS and HTML to get the most concise code.
  • You understand that the end product is going to be seen by masses of people.
  • You appreciate that your end product needs to be loved by the clients because they have to live with it day in, day out.
  • An unhappy customer is a reflection on a misunderstanding of requirements.

What wonderful insight. Where’s my needle?

To add to the insight, I feel, one of the few differences of the two professions is that while a web design and it’s structure never stop evolving, I do feel that too many lifts can turn a gal into cat-like appearance. And, not in a good way (no offense to all you cat-lovers out there).

After then a closer look, I found that I enjoyed a lot of the DESIGNEDBYNATALIE articles. Natalie provides an interesting look on different aspects of design.


APPLE CARVES OUT A SPECIAL APP STORE AREA FOR “AWESOME IOS 4 APPS” for all to grab. This list is a great go to list to start with. I have a handful of apps that I personally love love love – and aren’t featured on this list. But, considering how many apps are out there, I suppose that this should be thought of as a great starting point.

Having said that – this post mentions 36 apps that have been focused on. But, only a couple days later, this section in the App Store now boasts 42 awesome apps to be grabbed. Which means, that this is obviously a section to keep an eye on and it will be updated often.

We’re watching you Apple (two fingers to my eyes; two fingers pointing at you; two fingers to my eyes; two fingers pointing at you; two fingers to my eyes… )

(via @techcrunch)

Catch you on the flip-side
~ Jennifer


QUOTE OF THE WEEK ::

“I see graphic design as the organization of information that is semantically correct, syntactically consistent and pragmatically understandable.”

~ Massimo Vigelli

TAGS: retro, photography, candid, shooting challenge, apple, apps, web design

§ One Response to June 20-26, 2010

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading June 20-26, 2010 at THIS WEEK IN DESIGN.

meta

